“From the car window, view of streetlamps from atop the hill, like the lighthouse keeper feeding the bonfire with firewood.”

An emerging talent on the Japanese ambient/electro-acoustic music scene, haruka nakamura’s second solo outing refines the lyrical, pastoral imagery that inspired his first album “grace”. Recorded in a studio overlooking the ocean as a tribute to the sight of the expiring sun falling slowly over the horizon at dusk, “twilight” is a sustained reverie that mirrors the dwindling rays of light at day’s end with its subtle variations in timbre and texture.

The brassy shimmer of ARAKI Shin’s sax opens the first track “Yuube no Inori” (M1), swelling languidly as the orchestra slowly unfurls around it like a resplendent sunset. Throughout the album, haruka nakamura coaxes a startling range of tonal color out of piano phrases that twinkle, patter and shuffle through a variety of compositions and tempos – the gentle march of “harmonie du soir”; the somnolent haze of “On the Verandah” (M6) punctuated by drowsy stutters and cicadas muttering all around you; the reverberations of your languishing pulse as night starts to fall in “faraway”. isao saito’s sensitive percussion offers subdued but confident support throughout – dwindling to a hush as the fading rays of the sun dissipate in the crisp night air.

The middle of the album – “Koukei” (M8) and “dialogo”, in particular – wanders off on a short jaunt into looser, ethereal territory. The furtive meandering of the soprano saxophone by akira uchida, roving itinerant chords, airy percussion and carefully-spaced sustain and release of the pedal are reminiscent of acoustic ambient jazz of ECM. Closing the album, however, are two melody-driven vocal tracks: “twilight”, a gentle flicker of a ballad that rises and ebbs with April Lee’s (aspidistrafly) fluttering, half-whispered vocals, and Janis crunch’s acoustic arpeggio-driven elegy in tribute to the dwindling of “The Light”

“twilight” is available on CD + Artbook and digital formats on 15th July 2010. The physical CD copy comes in 48 pages hardcover artbook edition. Artbook is professionally offset printed on non acid free newsprint paper. Within its pages, polaroid photos by haruka nakamura are bound to a hardcover with CD enclosed in an envelope attached to inner back cover. As time passes, the material quality of the paper itself will undergo subtle changes naturally. Currently on the 4th pressing.


haruka nakamura  (b.1982) is a composer in Tokyo, Japan. As a child, haruka learned to play piano and guitar on his own. His sound is made of sunset and season’s perfume. haruka first emerged in the Japanese electronic scene with the release of “Afterglow” (Schole, 2007), a split album with Akira Kosemura. It was then followed by two solo albums “grace” (Schole, 2008) and “twilight” (Kitchen. Label 2010). All 3 albums are ranked as one of the most successful albums in recent times by a new independent artist in Japan. He was awarded “Singles of the Week” by iTunes Japan for the track “twilight”. — Read more

    CD + Artbook / Digital
    Jazz, Classical, Ambient
    14.0 x 13.5 x 0.8cm
    48 pages hardcover book, offset printed, full color on uncoated paper
    15 July 2010

  • 01 夕べの祈り
  • 02 harmonie du soir
  • 03 彼方
  • 04 窓辺
  • 05 memoria
  • 06 ベランダにて
  • 07 faraway
  • 08 光景
  • 09 dialogo
  • 10 音楽のある風景
  • 11 twilight (feat. April Lee)
  • 12 カーテンコール
  • 13 The Light (feat. Janis crunch)
  • Bonus Track 光 (feat. April Lee)

  • p*dis sales ranking No.1 for August 2010
    — Inpartmaint Inc / p*dis Japan
  • twilight – iTunes Singles of the Week 30th June -7th July
    — iTunes Japan
  • “静かな音の広がりの中に、物語や、光の移り変わり、匂いを感じられる豊かな楽曲たち。haruka nakamuraの作品を通じて、「音楽」のさらなる深みを覗けたような気がする.”
    — limArt / 中島佑介, Japan
  • “美しい風景を見て、「ここに流れる音楽を作りたい」と願い、それをついに形にした。”twilight” —— 陽が沈んでから夜が来る、その一瞬の美しさを留めたアルバム.”
    — 雨と休日 / 寺田, Japan
  • “Haruka Nakamura’s first taste of greatness. Difficult to resist” 8/10, The Silent Ballet Top albums of 2010, No.33
    — The Silent Ballet, USA
  • “The explorative style of Haruka Nakamura’s Twilight hints that there’s an even stronger bond to the music of Keith Jarrett” – Textura Top albums of 2010, Honourable mention.
    — Textura, Canada