Nº 14 HARUKA NAKAMURA – 音楽のある風景

“Dead of winter, a hidden chapel, silent prayers echoing.”

We first introduced haruka nakamura’s first full-length piano-based album ‘twilight’ in 2010. The studio-recorded album was extolled and acclaimed by fans and critics alike in Japan. Building on the strengths and success of its predecessor, haruka nakamura returns with his brand new 4th album, a 2 CD 106 minutes collection entitled ‘Ongaku no Aru Fuukei’ (English Translation: Music with scenery). Recorded at concert hall ‘sonorium’ in Tokyo, the album features the ensemble line-up of ARAKI Shin (saxophone, flute), Akira Uchida (saxophone), Rie Nemoto (violin) and isao saito (drums). The roots of the ensemble trace back to the recording of ‘twilight’ when haruka nakamura first invited each of the members to collaborate on the album ‘twilight’. Since the release and with almost 4 years of extensive touring behind them, the group has since gone on to build a repertoire and develop a musical language of their own, mixing classical rigor with contemporary improvisation both formal and free. With haruka nakamura leading from the piano, they produce glowing sonorities and emotional resonances that are rich in detail and austerely beautiful.

The link to chamber music from hymns and spirituals is fundamental in the music orientation of haruka nakamura. To capture that, ‘Ongaku no Aru Fuukei’ was recorded in the responsive acoustics of the Jun Aoki designed concert hall ‘sonorium’ with Katsunori Fukuoka (fly sound) as the recording engineer. That the album was recorded at the chapel-like hall, rather than a recording studio, makes perfect sense: the recital-like and liturgical nature of this collection closely aligned to the sound and stark beauty of the space itself. The performances which emerged are evocative, intimate and elegantly etched in sombre hues – one that finds haruka nakamura and the ensemble perfectly attuned to each other. ‘Ongaku no Aru Fuukei’ showcases a mix of short tracks and extended pieces as well as a range of durations, as the ensemble balances composed passages with looser free improvisations. It features newly composed pieces ‘SIN’, ‘Shigatsu no Soutei’, ‘Eien’ and reworked ensemble performances based on pieces from his previous album ‘twilight’ and more. Highlights include a breathtaking 19 minutes title track ‘Ongaku no Aru Fuukei’ and the hymn-like ‘Hikari’ which features renowned 9-piece female choir CANTUS.

‘Ongaku no Aru Fuukei’ is haruka nakamura’s most definitive recording to date and a must-have for all his fans. The album will be available on double CD and digital download from 24 December 2014.


haruka nakamura  (b.1982) is a composer in Tokyo, Japan. As a child, Haruka learned to play piano and guitar on his own. His sound is made of sunset and season’s perfume. haruka first emerged in the Japanese electronic scene with the release of “Afterglow” (Schole, 2007), a split album with Akira Kosemura. It was then followed by three solo albums “grace” (Schole, 2008), “twilight” (Kitchen. Label 2010) and “MELODICA” (hydeout productions, 2013). All 4 albums are ranked as one of the most successful independent albums in recent times by a new artist in Japan. — Read more

    2 CD / Digital
    Modern Classical, Jazz, Ambient
    17.0 x 13.5 x 1.2cm
    Box with matt gold foil, double CD case, 32 page booklet
    24 December 2014

  • US$27.00

    Shipping to all countries included. Orders come with instant digital download.

    iTunes World
    iTunes Japan

  • 1-1 夕べの祈り 7:01
  • 1-2 harmonie du soir 4:22
  • 1-3 dialogo 6:26
  • 1-4 nowhere 18:22
  • 1-5 SIN 13:31
  • 1-6 四月の裝丁 11:02
  • 2-1 音楽のある風景 19:05
  • 2-2 光 14:28
  • 2-3 永遠 10:10
  • Bonus Track CALL 8:37