“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.”

KITCHEN. LABEL presents haruka nakamura PIANO ENSEMBLE’s new album entitled “Hikari” in a special 2CD box set edition to be released on 8th August 2017. “Hikari” is the final set of the trilogy of albums (Ongaku No Aru Fuukei and CURTAIN CALL) to feature the current PIANO ENSEMBLE lineup before they go on a indefinite hiatus after their last show at the grand St Mary’s Cathedral in Tokyo on 21st July 2017.

Since the release of “Ongaku No Aru Fuukei” in 2014, haruka nakamura PIANO ENSEMBLE has held a tour with 17 concerts in Japan and 4 around Asia, with high profile and sold-out concerts at venues such at Memorial Cathedral of World Peace in Hiroshima, Meguro Persimmon Hall in Tokyo and Hyogo Performing Arts Center in Kobe among others. Recorded in late 2016 and early 2017, “Hikari” includes a new suite of pieces from evolved and fully-formed versions of the group’s favourites and also previously unrecorded items from its concert programs. The album’s repertoire is the ensemble’s most complete yet and documented at the peak of the ensemble’s form.

Part one of “Hikari” begins with music recorded once again at the acoustically profound sonorium hall in Tokyo. As ever, haruka nakamura’s attention to the purity and precision of each and every note is matched by counterparts ARAKI Shin (Saxophone and Flute), Akira Uchida (Saxophone), Rie Nemoto (Violin) and Isao Saito (Drums). haruka nakamura’s piano melodies might appear uncomplicated, but this transparency of sound creates a mesmerising cumulative effect with “SIN” representing the ensemble at its most buoyant.

Part two and the centrepiece of the album features 3 extended tracks recorded at Meguro Persimmon Hall (Tokyo), Waseda Scott Hall (Tokyo) and Lutheran Church (Fukuoka). 9-piece female choir group CANTUS, baobab and 14 year old vocalist Urara all took part in these recordings where the pieces “CURTAIN CALL” and title-track “Hikari” showcase the album’s collection of sacred hymns and spiritual high points. The ensemble is also joined by long time associate AOKI,Hayoto (Guitars & Harmonica) along with Hiroki Chiba (Contrabass), Sakanoshita Norimasa (Guitar) and Ami Misawa (Cello). The album ender and new piece “Todai”, thereby closing a divine circuit with its concluding distances. If music is meant to be a transporting experience, then the album “Hikari” is haruka nakamura PIANO ENSEMBLE at their transcendent and luminescent best.

This album is recorded by Katsunori Fukuoka (Flysound) and is mixed and mastered by Gen Tanabe (studio camel house). “Hikari” is packaged in a hardcase box and features a 36 page book containing exclusive photos, liner and composer’s notes (In Japanese). The album also includes a digital download for 2 bonus tracks Hajimari No Sanbika (Waseda Scott Hall) and Yuube No Inori (sonorium). Total runtime: 85 mins.

1-1 nowhere (sonorium – Mar 11, 2017)
1-2 SIN (sonorium – Mar 11, 2017)
1-3 四月の装丁 (sonorium – Mar 11, 2017)
1-4 音楽のある風景 (sonorium – Mar 11, 2017)
2-1 光 (Meguro Persimmon Hall – Dec 11, 2016)
2-2 CURTAIN CALL (Waseda Scott Hall – Dec 23, 2016)
2-3 灯台 (Lutheran Church – Jun 18, 2016)
Bonus Track 1 – はじまりの賛美歌 (Waseda Scott Hall – Dec 23, 2016)
Bonus Track 2 – 夕べの祈り (sonorium – Mar 11, 2017)


haruka nakamura  (b.1982) is a composer in Tokyo, Japan. As a child, Haruka learned to play piano and guitar on his own. His sound is made of sunset and season’s perfume. haruka first emerged in the Japanese electronic scene with the release of “Afterglow” (Schole, 2007), a split album with Akira Kosemura. It was then followed by three solo albums “grace” (Schole, 2008), “twilight” (Kitchen. Label 2010) and “MELODICA” (hydeout productions, 2013). All 4 albums are ranked as one of the most successful independent albums in recent times by a new artist in Japan. — Read more

    2 CD Box Set
    Modern Classical, Ambient
    Hardcase box with gold foil, customized CD case and 36-page book
    8 August 2017

  • US$27.00

    Shipping to all countries included. Orders come with instant digital download.

    iTunes World
    iTunes Japan

  • 1-1   nowhere 14:41
  • 1-2   SIN 13:08
  • 1-3   四月の装丁 11:25
  • 1-4   音楽のある風景 13:14
  • 2-1   光 14:20
  • 2-2   CURTAIN CALL 8:39
  • 2-3   灯台 9:25
  • Bonus Track   はじまりの賛美歌 11:30
  • Bonus Track   夕べの祈り 7:00