Nº 4 twilight – haruka nakamura

  • ►    夕べの祈り
  • ►    harmonie du soir
  • ►    彼方
  • ►    窓辺
  • ►    memoria
  • ►    ベランダにて
  • ►    faraway
  • ►    光景
  • ►    dialogo
  • ►    音楽のある風景
  • ►    twilight (Feat. April Lee)
  • ►    カーテンコール
  • ►    The Light (Feat. Janis Crunch)
Categories: ,

USD $9.00USD $14.00


out of stock.


Orders come with WAV & MP3 downloads


Ambient, Jazz,
New Age

CD + Artbook

Glass-mastered CD housed in 48 pages hardcover book, offset printed, full color on premium matt and newsprint paper

15 July 2010

Reissue: 6000
First Press: 5000

“From the car window, a view of street lamps atop the hill. The lighthouse keeper feeds the bonfire with firewood.”

Originally released in 2010, haruka nakamura’s second solo album “twilight”  established him as one of the most vital and successful independent artists in Japan. 3 years since the original release, “twilight” is now reissued in a newly packaged CD edition with a special inclusion of 3 bonus download tracks.

The album refines the lyrical, pastoral imagery that inspired his first album “grace”. Recorded in a studio overlooking the ocean as a tribute to the sight of the expiring sun falling slowly over the horizon at dusk, “twilight” is a sustained reverie that mirrors the dwindling rays of light at day’s end with its subtle variations in timbre and texture.

The brassy shimmer of ARAKI Shin’s sax opens the first track “Yuube no Inori” (M1), swelling languidly as the orchestra slowly unfurls around it like a resplendent sunset. Throughout the album, haruka nakamura coaxes a startling range of tonal colour out of piano phrases that twinkle, patter and shuffle through a variety of compositions and tempos – the gentle march of “harmonie du soir”; the somnolent haze of “On the Verandah” (M6)

punctuated by drowsy stutters and cicadas muttering all around you; the reverberations of your languishing pulse as night starts to fall in “faraway”. isao saito’s sensitive percussion offers subdued but confident support throughout – dwindling to a hush as the fading rays of the sun dissipate in the crisp night air.

The middle of the album – “Koukei” (M8) and “dialogo”, in particular – wanders off on a short jaunt into looser, ethereal territory. The furtive meandering of the soprano saxophone by akira uchida, roving itinerant chords, airy percussion and carefully-spaced sustain and release of the pedal are reminiscent of acoustic ambient jazz of ECM. Closing the album, however, are two melody-driven vocal tracks: “twilight”, a gentle flicker of a ballad that rises and ebbs with April Lee’s (aspidistrafly) fluttering, half-whispered vocals, and Janis crunch’s acoustic arpeggio-driven elegy in tribute to the dwindling of “The Light”.

“twilight” is available on CD + Artbook and digital formats on 15th July 2010. The physical CD copy comes in 48 pages hardcover artbook edition. Artbook is professionally offset printed on non acid free newsprint paper. Within its pages, polaroid photos by haruka nakamura are bound to a hardcover with CD enclosed in an envelope attached to inner back cover. As time passes, the material quality of the paper itself will undergo subtle changes naturally. The album is mastered and designed by KITCHEN. LABEL founder Ricks Ang.


“静かな音の広がりの中に、物語や、光の移り変わり、匂いを感じられる豊かな楽曲たち。haruka nakamuraの作品を通じて、「音楽」のさらなる深みを覗けたような気がする.”

— limArt / 中島佑介, Japan

“A symphonic poem, between contemporary classical and ECM-jazz. A remarkable sonic experiment.”

— Tokafi, Germany

“Haruka Nakamura’s first taste of greatness. Difficult to resist” 8/10

— The Silent Ballet, USA

“Some of the most beautiful music in the world.”

— Headphone Commute, USA



haruka nakamura

haruka nakamura is a composer, producer and multi-instrumentalist based in Tokyo, Japan. While growing up in the snowy hills of Aomori, haruka learned to play piano and guitar on his own…

Read More

Additional information

Weight N/A

You may also like…